Self-Paced Professional Learning – Part I

Who Dares to Teach, Dares to Learn

Image courtesy of Ana Cristina Pradas / cristinaskybox.blogspot.com

I have always loved professional learning. I realize that the popular term is “staff development”, but to me that sounds like an all-knowing instructor waving the magic wand and dictating how the staff will be developed. As we move (hopefully) into an era of more choice in teacher professional learning, I have been inspired by edcamps, tweetups, and other events where educators themselves are asked what they want to learn and what they want to share. Although job-embedded teacher learning is an essential element of any successful school plan, many teachers still need time on their own to dig deeper or to experiment with something they have learned.

With that in mind, I have decided to create a website dedicated to teachers at my school in order to give them resources that they can use at their own pace, in their own way. I know this has been done before, but my hope is that this site (it already existed, but I didn’t really have a vision of its purpose at the time I created it) will become a place for teachers to use the self-differentiated resources to learn more about specific apps, web tools, questioning strategies, and creative ideas to use in their classrooms. Enjoy Part I of “Favorite Apps & Web Tools” and feel free to explore the rest of the site!

OUR FAVORITE APPS & WEB TOOLS

 

 

Leave a Reply

